The beautiful centre of Willemstad, a fortified town on the Hollands Diep. The Mauritshuis was commissioned by Prince Maurits, son of Willem van Oranje (1567-1625), and built in 1623. As the founder and first resident, he personally welcomes, as life-size interactive silhouette, the visitors to the renewed centre.
In the visitor centre, visitors are enticed to discover the defence of Willemstad for themselves. Different stories are told. The stories are grouped in three overarching themes: Orange and Spain, Land and Water and War and Peace. In each room a theme comes to life. The aim of this visitor centre is to ‘entice’ visitors to discover the rest of the defence of Willemstad through the interactive exhibition.